SDG Forum Series—Green Museums and the Paris Agreement

SDG Forum Series—Green Museums and the Paris Agreement

Do you know your carbon footprint? How do our daily carbon emissions contribute to climate change? Museums, as trusted institutions, play an increasingly important role as conscience of our society and have the duty to communicate climate change with the public. The Paris Agreement is a legally binding international treaty on climate change. It was adopted by 196 Parties at the 21st session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 21) in Paris, in 2015. Its goal is to limit global warming to well below 2 Celsius. The COP 26 is scheduled to take place in November 2021 in the UK. In response to the Paris Agreement, museums all over the world have made tremendous achievements in organizing exhibitions, raising public awareness and engaging the community in fostering sustainability. The next question for museums is ‘How are museums, as a sector, to contribute towards collective impacts to address the global climate crisis?’

Invited speakers from the US, Australia and Hong Kong will share at the Green Museums and the Paris Agreement forum the experiences and achievements in greening museums, enhancing sustainable operations and advancing climate change education. The forum also serves as an important step to build a community of green museums which act locally and ideate globally.

This forum will take place via Zoom.

Date and Time NYC | 5 May 2021 (Wednesday) 21:30–23:30 GMT−4
Hong Kong | 6 May 2021 (Thursday) 09:30–11:30 GMT+8
Sydney | 6 May 2021 (Thursday) 11:30–13:30 GMT+10
(Check your time zone at https://everytimezone.com/s/62fc124e)

See the full lineup here.

Skip to content